Just Like a Line to Buy Concert Tickets

Got up early and motored down to Imperial. Walked into the gym at 6:45 a.m.  Nobody in the lobby waiting, but my name was number 9 on the list when the counter girl wrote it down for me. So I asked her how early the first person showed up.

“I’m just curious,” I said, and repeated it reassure her. She looked worried, like she was being asked to give out Non Public Information.

“I would say, 6:35,” she replied.

Thanked her for the info and went upstairs to set up my bike. At five minutes till 7 a.m. all the regulars stood in the lobby, clumped in a loose line up to the counter. They huddled in little conversations of 2 to 3 people. They act like they’ve been coming to the Sunday class since time immemorial. I don’t  come to the gym to socialize or interact with people on any level, but it would be nice to feel accepted into their club.

The counter people at Imperial know me now, and call me by name. And I don’t mean they’re looking at a screen to read my name before they greet me. It’s a bit un-nerving. While standing under the pre-swim shower, the one counter guy (out of all the females in that position down there) walked by and greeted me by name. And I didn’t know his. Suppose I should just make some self-deprecating remark and ask for his name. It takes an effort to be a human being. I just want to remain isolated in my work out.

Jeff B. went heavy on the disco and 70’s MOR rock today: Foghat (original mix “Slow Ride”), Journey (a dance mix of “Don’t Stop Believing”) and A Taste of Honey’s “Boogie Oogie Oogie” revamped into a club mix.  It was fun. Some sang along. I didn’t sing, but followed along line by line in my head.

In other news, I retitled the novel again. Whenever the work pace slows, I retitle it or change the cover picture. Nevertheless, it fills 2.5 notebooks now, not counting several stray Word and Lotus docs. Just need to get it done and move forward. It’s scary. I’ve had something on the burner most of my life. But it’s time to get it out there. I’m gonna be fifty in June, and that’s my drop dead deadline. Gotta make it happen.

Leave a Reply

